.

The
polymer R&D.

We stand for a high level of expertise and more than twenty years of experience in the development of new polymers. Thanks to a closed innovation process chain from the laboratory to the pilot plant to the production of samples on a ton scale, we focuse on rapid implementation of the results of our work.

Synthesis &
scale-up.

When the development of a new polymer in the laboratory is successful, there are often obstacles that hinder the transfer to the pilot plant scale.

Not with us. In our pilot-plant facility in Chempark Leverkusen, we have apparatuses and processes to synthesize the first kilogram quantities of a material for our customers, but also the capacity to scale up to the ton scale. Sample quantities are possible up to approx. 100 tons. We are also working on expanding our options in the direction of contract manufacturing and thus also reaching a capacity of 1,000 tons per year.

Wolfgang Paczenski

Wolfgang Paczenski
Phone: +49 214 2605 42850
w.paczenski@polymaterials.de

Peter Zetlau
Phone: +49 214 2605 42850
p.zetlau@polymaterials.de

Benefits for our customers:

Closed process chain from synthesis of kilograms to scale-up and process development in the ton range. Support throughout the market development through sample quantities, in the future also by contract manufacturing.

The
compounding.

With our compounding lines on laboratory and pilot plant scale, we are able to produce sample quantities. A 20mm twin screw extruder and two planetary roller extruders (50mm and 70mm, throughput approx. 5-100 kg/h) are available for this. The planetary roller extruder is particularly suitable for reactive extrusion because of its longer residence time and better temperature control compared to twin screw extruders.

Dr. Bernd Kopera

Dr. Bernd Kopera
Phone: +49 8341 91-6718
b.kopera@polymaterials.de

Peter Reinhold
Phone: +49 8341 91-6709
p.reinhold@polymaterials.de

Benefits for our customers:

Rapid availability of sample quantities, tests for reactive extrusion in the planetary roller extruder.

3D printing
materials.

Our experts have broad expertise when it comes to polymer materials for 3D printing by the FDM process (“fused deposition modeling”). In the laboratory and pilot plant, we can produce specialty polymers that can be used as soluble support materials in the process. In the compounding pilot plant, optimization of support and building materials to the specific requirements of the FDM process is then possible.

We operate a filament extrusion line to provide high-quality filament rolls for test purposes. For the first functional tests, two 3D printers are also available in the R&D center so that results can be delivered very quickly.

Dr. Bernd Kopera

Dr. Bernd Kopera
Phone: +49 8341 91-6718
b.kopera@polymaterials.de

Peter Reinhold
Phone: +49 8341 91-6709
p.reinhold@polymaterials.de

Benefits for our customers:

We can provide a unique combination of know-how in the fields of polymer synthesis, optimization through compounding, and the production of filaments. Because we are able to develop both support and construction materials for the FDM process, the customer gets their ideal combination of materials from a “one-stop shop”.

.

Die
Polymerentwicklung.

Wir stehen für hohe Expertise und langjähriger Erfahrung in der Entwicklung neuer polymerer Materialien. Durch eine durchgängige Innovationsprozesskette vom Labor über Technikum bis zur Mustermengenproduktion im Tonnenmaßstab können wir eine zielgerichtete und schnelle Realisierung von Polymerinnovationen gewährleisten.

Synthese &
Scale-up.

Nach erfolgreicher Entwicklung eines neuen Polymeren im Labor besteht oft eine Hürde in der Übertragung in den Technikumsmaßstab.

Nicht bei uns. Im Chempark Leverkusen verfügen wir über Apparate und Prozesse um für unsere Kunden erste Kilogramm-Mengen eines Materials im Technikum zu synthetisieren, aber auch um einen Scale-Up in den Tonnenmaßstab realisieren zu können. Mustermengen sind bis in den Bereich von ca. 100 Tonnen möglich. Außerdem arbeiten wir daran, unsere Möglichkeiten in Richtung Lohn-Produktion auszuweiten und so auch bis in den 1.000 Jahrestonnen-Maßstab zu kommen.

Wolfgang Paczenski

Wolfgang Paczenski
Telefon: +49 214 2605 42850
w.paczenski@polymaterials.de

Peter Zetlau
Telefon: +49 214 2605 42850
p.zetlau@polymaterials.de

Kundenvorteile:

Geschlossene Prozesskette von Synthese im Kilogramm-Maßstab bis zum Scale-Up und einer Verfahrensentwicklung in den Tonnenbereich. Begleitung der kundenseitigen Marktentwicklung durch Mustermengen, zukünftig auch Lohn-Produktion.

Die
Compoundierung.

Mit unseren Compoundier-Anlagen im Labor- und Technikumsmaßstab sind wir in der Lage, auch kleine Mustermengen zu erzeugen. Hierfür stehen ein 20mm Doppelschneckenextruder und zwei Planetwalzenextruder (50mm und 70mm, Durchsatz ca. 5-100kg/h) zur Verfügung. Für reaktive Extrusion bietet sich insbesondere der Planetwalzenextruder an, wegen seiner längeren Verweilzeit und der im Vergleich zur Doppelschnecke besseren Temperaturkontrolle.

Dr. Bernd Kopera
Telefon: +49 8341 91-6718
b.kopera@polymaterials.de

Peter Reinhold
Telefon: +49 8341 91-6709
p.reinhold@polymaterials.de

Kundenvorteile:

Schnelle Verfügbarkeit von Mustermengen, Tests für Reaktivextrusion im Planetwalzenextruder.

3D-Druck
Material.

Unsere Experten verfügen über eine breite Expertise, wenn es um polymere Materialien für den 3D Druck nach dem FDM-Verfahren („fused deposition modeling“) geht. Im Synthese-Labor und -Technikum können wir spezielle Polymere herstellen, die die Funktion eines Stützmaterials im Prozess übernehmen können, im Compoundiertechnikum ist dann die gezielte Optimierung von Stütz- und Baumaterialien auf die Erfordernisse des FDM 3D-Drucks möglich.

Zur Erzeugung von Mustern verfügen wir über eine eigene Filament-Extrusionslinie um qualitativ hochwertige Spulen zu Testzwecken zur Verfügung stellen zu können. Für erste Funktionstests stehen zudem im Technikum zwei 3D-Drucker bereit, um sehr schnell Ergebnisse liefern zu können.

Dr. Bernd Kopera
Telefon: +49 8341 91-6718
b.kopera@polymaterials.de

Peter Reinhold
Telefon: +49 8341 91-6709
p.reinhold@polymaterials.de

Kundenvorteile:

Wir können eine einzigartige Knowhow-Kombination aus Polymersynthese, Optimierung durch Compoundierung und die Herstellung von Filamenten zur Verfügung stellen. Dadurch dass wir in der Lage sind, sowohl Stütz- als auch Baumaterialien für den FDM-Prozess entwickeln zu können, bekommt der Kunde seine ideale Materialkombination „aus einer Hand“.